Do Dog GPS Trackers Need a Subscription? The Full 5-Year Cost Breakdown
Short answer: yes — with one partial exception, every real GPS tracker for dogs requires a paid subscription, and the subscription, not the device, is where most of your money goes.
That is not a sales tactic by the brands (well, not only that). A GPS tracker is a tiny cellular phone your dog wears: it has a GPS receiver to find itself, and a cellular radio to tell you where it is. Cellular networks charge for that connection. The device price buys the hardware once; the subscription keeps the reporting line open. Stop paying, and on nearly every tracker below, tracking stops — in one case below, everything stops.
The real question for a buyer is not "subscription or not." It is "what is the total cost over the years I will actually own this?" Device prices in this category range from $29 to $999 and tell you almost nothing about that total. This article does the arithmetic the product pages do not: device plus plan, at 1, 2, 3, and 5 years, for one dog and for two — using only manufacturer prices checked in October 2026.
How we calculated these tables (read this before quoting a number)
- Total cost = device price + the cheapest annual (1-year) plan, renewed at that same annual rate each year. That is a deliberately simple, comparable baseline.
- Multi-year prepay deals are shown separately, in their own section, because they change the winners. Nothing from that section is baked into the main tables.
- Sale prices are used where the manufacturer's own store showed them on 2026-10-04: FitBark's device at $34.95 (regular $69.95) and Halo's at $524 (MSRP $599). If those sales end, FitBark totals rise by $35 and Halo totals by $75. We flag this wherever it matters.
- Excluded from every total: activation fees (most brands do not state one — exceptions noted below), optional add-ons such as Tractive Care ($24/year on a 1-year cycle), taxes, collar mounts and accessories, and replacement batteries.
- Two dogs = two devices + two plans for every brand except Life360 (one membership covers up to 2 trackers) and the noted SpotOn second-collar discount. Multi-dog households are where pricing models diverge most — see that section.
- Fi's totals are verified at Fi's live checkout (2026-10-04). The device is paid at checkout, and the membership is chosen at activation — first term discounted ($99 for the 1-year plan), renewing at $189/yr. Explained in full in its section below.
- No device replacement, loss, or breakage is assumed over five years. No brand we checked, except SpotOn (whose internal battery "typically lasts 5–7 years"), states a battery-replacement cost.
All prices are US storefront prices in USD, checked in October 2026. At least one brand (Tractive) varies its prices by country, so do not apply these figures outside the US store.
The one-dog table: 1, 2, 3, and 5 years
| Product (plan used) | Device | Plan / yr | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple AirTag, 2nd gen (no plan — not a GPS tracker; not for pets, per Apple) | $29 | $0 | $29 | $29 | $29 | $29 |
| Life360 Pet GPS Tracker (Silver) | $99, incl. 12 mo membership | $99.99 from year 2 | $99 | $198.99 | $298.98 | $498.96 |
| FitBark GPS, 2nd Gen (1-yr plan) | $34.95 sale | $96 | $130.95 | $226.95 | $322.95 | $514.95 |
| Tractive DOG 6 (Basic) | $79 | $108 | $187 | $295 | $403 | $619 |
| Tractive DOG 6 XL (Basic) | $89 | $108 | $197 | $305 | $413 | $629 |
| Cube GPS / Cube Mini | $73.99 | $198 | $271.99 | $469.99 | $667.99 | $1,063.99 |
| Fi Mini (membership) | $99 | $99 first yr, then $189 | $198 | $387 | $576 | $954 |
| Fi Series 3+ (membership) | $129 | $99 first yr, then $189 | $228 | $417 | $606 | $984 |
| Fi Ultra (membership) | $299 | $99 first yr, then $189 | $398 | $587 | $776 | $1,154 |
| Halo Collar 5 (Bronze, annual billing) | $524 sale | $109.89 | $633.89 | $743.78 | $853.67 | $1,073.45 |
| SpotOn Nova — containment only, no plan | $999 | $0 | $999 | $999 | $999 | $999 |
| SpotOn Nova + Tracking Plan (annual) | $999 | $101.88 | $1,100.88 | $1,202.76 | $1,304.64 | $1,508.40 |
All figures checked Oct 2026 against manufacturer sources. Discontinued brands are excluded: Whistle's service has ended (reported as late August 2025 by dedicated review sites; the date was not verified on an official brand page) and it is never a purchase option.
Three patterns in this table are worth slowing down for.
1. The subscription quickly becomes the product
For a Tractive DOG 6, the $79 device is 42% of your year-1 spend — and only about 13% of your five-year spend. For a Fi Series 3+, $855 of the $984 five-year total is membership ($99 for the discounted first term, then four renewals at $189). When you shop by device price, you are optimizing the smallest part of the bill.
2. Device price is a poor predictor of total cost — the Cube proof
Cube is the cleanest demonstration. Its device is the second-cheapest real GPS tracker in the table at $73.99 — cheaper than a Tractive. But Cube's plan is $198/year, the most expensive mainstream subscription we found (annual plan; monthly billing is $19.95/month). By year 5, Cube totals $1,063.99 — more than three Tractive DOG 6s' worth of device prices, and more than Fi's Mini, despite Fi's much pricier-looking membership model. A cheap device attached to an expensive plan is an expensive tracker with extra steps.
Fi shows the same effect from the other direction: a membership that runs $99 for the discounted first term and then renews at $189/year does the same thing to all three Fi models, taking even the $99 Mini to $954 by year 5.
The rule that follows: compare the plan price first, the device price second. A $10/month difference in plan price is $600 over five years. A $10 difference in device price is $10, once.
3. Rankings flip over time — SpotOn's inversion
SpotOn Nova is the most expensive row in year 1 ($999, or $1,100.88 with tracking) and looks absurd next to a $130.95 FitBark. But because its core fencing works with no plan at all, its no-plan cost is flat: $999 in year 1, $999 in year 5. By year 5, the no-plan SpotOn is cheaper than Cube, Halo, and Fi Ultra (though no longer Fi Mini or Fi Series 3+). Time horizon changes the answer, which is precisely why one-year comparisons — the only kind most review sites publish — mislead.
One honest caveat about SpotOn's flat line: "no plan" means no location view, no escape alerts, and no real-time tracking. The fence works; the find-my-dog features are the paid part. Compare like with like.
The prepay effect: five years, paid smarter
The main table assumes you renew the cheapest annual plan every year. Most brands reward longer commitments, and over five years the effect is large enough to reorder the leaderboard. These are one-dog, five-year totals using each brand's longest or cheapest prepay combination, from manufacturer pricing checked in October 2026:
| Product | 5-year total on annual renewals | 5-year total with prepay | How |
|---|---|---|---|
| FitBark GPS | $514.95 | $274.95 | $34.95 device (sale) + one 5-year plan at $240 ($4/mo) |
| Tractive DOG 6 (Premium) | $619 (on Basic) | $379 | $79 device + 5-year Premium plan at $300 ($5/mo) |
| Life360 Pet GPS | $498.96 | $498.96 | No multi-year discount stated |
| Fi Mini | $954 | $816 | 2-yr plan path: $189 first term + $339 renewal + $189 final year = $717 membership over 5 years |
| Fi Series 3+ | $984 | $846 | Same 2-yr plan path ($717 membership over 5 years) |
| Fi Ultra | $1,154 | $1,016 | Same 2-yr plan path ($717 membership over 5 years) |
| Halo Collar 5 (Bronze) | $1,073.45 | $1,053.47 | 2-yr + 2-yr + 1-yr; Halo states the 2-year Bronze total as $209.79 |
| Cube GPS | $1,063.99 | $1,063.99 | No multi-year discount stated |
| SpotOn Nova + plan | $1,508.40 | $1,460.40 | 2-yr + 2-yr + 1-yr tracking plans |
Two findings stand out:
- FitBark's 5-year plan makes it the cheapest true GPS tracker over five years, full stop: $274.95 total. That is a $240 plan ($4/month) plus a $34.95 sale-price device. Even if the device sale ends and you pay the regular $69.95, the total is $309.95 — still the cheapest true-GPS five-year figure we found. The trade-off for prepaying anyone is real, though: you are betting the service stays alive and stays good for five years. Whistle owners learned in 2025 what happens when a brand does not. Prepay the brands you judge stable, and treat very long prepay as a (usually sensible) risk decision, not an automatic win.
- Tractive's Premium 5-year plan ($300) is the second headline: $379 all-in for five years — and Premium is the better tier, adding worldwide coverage and 365-day location history (Basic keeps 24 hours). Note that Tractive's advertised "from $5/month" figure is exactly this 5-year Premium prepay rate, not a monthly price: Tractive does not state a US monthly Basic price, and monthly Premium is explicitly unavailable. Basic has no 5-year tier at all; the cheapest Basic-only path (2-year + 2-year + 1-year) totals $475 over five years for the DOG 6 ($485 for the XL).
Two dogs change everything
Most brands charge per dog: two trackers, two subscriptions. One does not — and that makes the two-dog table the most lopsided in this article.
| Product | Year 1 | Year 2 | Year 3 | Year 5 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple AirTag × 2 (not a pet tracker) | $58 | $58 | $58 | $58 |
| Life360 Pet GPS × 2 (one Silver membership covers both) | $198 | $297.99 | $397.98 | $597.96 |
| FitBark GPS × 2 | $261.90 | $453.90 | $645.90 | $1,029.90 |
| Tractive DOG 6 × 2 (Basic) | $374 | $590 | $806 | $1,238 |
| Tractive DOG 6 XL × 2 (Basic) | $394 | $610 | $826 | $1,258 |
| Cube GPS × 2 | $543.98 | $939.98 | $1,335.98 | $2,127.98 |
| Fi Mini × 2 | $396 | $774 | $1,152 | $1,908 |
| Fi Series 3+ × 2 | $456 | $834 | $1,212 | $1,968 |
| Halo Collar 5 × 2 (Bronze) | $1,267.78 | $1,487.56 | $1,707.34 | $2,146.90 |
| Fi Ultra × 2 | $796 | $1,174 | $1,552 | $2,308 |
| SpotOn Nova × 2, no plan (2nd collar $899) | $1,898 | $1,898 | $1,898 | $1,898 |
| SpotOn Nova × 2 + tracking plans | $2,101.76 | $2,305.52 | $2,509.28 | $2,916.80 |
Checked Oct 2026, manufacturer sources.
Life360 runs away with the multi-dog case: $597.96 over five years for two dogs — less than half the next GPS option (FitBark at $1,029.90). The reason is structural: its Silver membership renews at $99.99/year per household and covers up to 2 trackers, while everyone else bills per collar. Higher Life360 tiers extend the idea (Gold, $169.99/year, covers 3–5 trackers; Platinum, $249.99/year, covers 6+). Two fine-print notes: Life360's own explainer mentions a $3.99 activation fee for subsequent trackers (first tracker waived), which is not included above — add $3.99 to the two-dog totals if it applies — and that same explainer conflicts with Life360's current product pages about which tier a pet tracker requires. We followed the current product pages.
Elsewhere in the two-dog table: SpotOn gives $100 off a second collar ($899), with plans still per collar; Halo charges $9.99/month for an additional collar's plan on all tiers (our annual-billing math assumes its pay-11-months annual deal applies the same way). And note what per-dog billing does at this scale: Cube crosses $2,000 over five years for two dogs, and so does the Fi Ultra ($2,308) — while the Fi Series 3+ lands just under, at $1,968.
If you will prepay FitBark's 5-year plan for two dogs, the implied five-year figure drops substantially below its table line — but we are not printing an exact two-dog prepay total here, because our verified tables only model annual renewals for two dogs. Do the same arithmetic we did (device × 2 + plan × 2) at FitBark's published plan prices before you rely on a number.
Brand-by-brand: the subscription fine print that matters
Tractive — Subscription required, per tracker. Basic: $108/year (1-year), $144 (2-year); no 5-year Basic. Premium: $120/year, $168 (2-year), $300 (5-year), adding Family Sharing, worldwide coverage, 365-day history, and data export. Activation fee: not stated by Tractive. Check price
FitBark — Subscription required for everything, including health-only use; the tracker does not function without one. Plans: 6 months $60, 1 year $96, 2 years $144, 3 years $180, 5 years $240. No month-to-month plan is stated. Plans are transferable to a new pet. Check price
Fi — costs verified at Fi's live checkout on 2026-10-04. The device is paid at checkout, hardware only (Mini $99, Series 3+ $129, Ultra $299). Membership is required but is not charged at purchase: you choose it at activation in the Fi app. The first term is always discounted and renewals are full price — 6 months $59 first term (renews $99), 1 year $99 first term (renews $189/yr), 2 years $189 first term (renews $339), the same for all models. No monthly plan is stated, and no activation fee was shown anywhere at checkout. Our tables use the 1-year plan: $99 in year 1, $189/yr after that. Check price
Life360 — Membership required; the $99 device price includes the first 12 months. Silver renews at $99.99/year and covers up to 2 trackers. A monthly Silver price is not stated on Life360's pet pages. First-tracker activation is waived per Life360's explainer; subsequent trackers may carry a $3.99 activation fee (see the two-dog section for the related tier-wording conflict). Check price
Cube — Subscription required per tracker ("cellular data plan required after pairing"): $198/year annual, or $19.95/month. No cancellation fees stated; no multi-year discount stated. Two cautions from Cube's own site: its lifetime warranty applies only while a subscription is active, and Cube states mutually inconsistent battery figures in different places (10–60 days in its homepage table, 6–20 days on use-case pages, up to 1 year in headline copy for another model) — one more reason to judge Cube on its (clear, expensive) plan price rather than its (unclear) battery claims. Also note the same device was priced $73.99 in Cube's direct store and $63.38 on Cube's own Buy-with-Prime page when checked. Check price
Halo — Pack Membership required per collar to activate and use fences/GPS at all. Bronze $9.99/month (5 fences), Silver $14.99/month (20 fences), Gold $19.99/month (unlimited fences); annual billing means paying for 11 months (Bronze $109.89/year, as stated by Halo). Initial activation fee: not stated. If you cancel and reactivate, Halo's support pages say reactivation is $0 within 14 days and $50 after. The 90-day money-back guarantee deducts $25 shipping and handling on returns. Check price
SpotOn — The exception that proves the rule: subscription optional. Fences and containment work fully with no plan; the Tracking Plan ($9.95/month, $101.88/year annual, $179.76 for 2 years) is what buys you the location view, escape alerts, live tracking, and activity features. Budget accordingly: the subscription question for SpotOn is not "do I need one to track?" (tracking is the plan) but "do I need tracking on top of containment?" Activation fee: not stated. Check price
Apple AirTag — No subscription exists or is required. It is in this article for one reason: it is the alternative everyone considers. It is also, per Apple, "designed exclusively for tracking objects, and not people or pets" — it has no GPS (it relays Bluetooth signals through nearby Apple devices), no geofence, and no escape alerts. Its $29 flat cost is not a cheaper version of the products above; it is a different and lesser tool for this job. We include it so the comparison is honest, not because we recommend it for dogs.
So, do you need a subscription? The decision version
- You want live tracking and escape alerts: Yes, you need a subscription — from somebody. Choose on 3- or 5-year total cost, not device price. On annual renewals, that points to Life360 ($498.96 over 5 years, one dog) or FitBark ($514.95); with prepay, FitBark ($274.95) and Tractive Premium ($379) lead.
- You have two dogs: Start with Life360's shared membership ($597.96 over 5 years for two) and only move away from it for a specific feature it lacks.
- You want containment without a subscription: SpotOn is the only system we checked whose core job works plan-free — but accept that escape alerts then cost extra.
- You refuse subscriptions on principle: Your honest options are a fence system used plan-free (SpotOn), or no real GPS tracking at all. Bluetooth tags like AirTag are not a substitute, whatever the price gap suggests.
- You're comparing two specific trackers: Ignore the device-price gap unless it's enormous. Compare plan price × years you will own it, add devices, and check whether a long prepay flips the result — in this category, it often does.
The brands design their pricing so the number you see first is the smallest one. Run the five-year number before you buy, and the category gets much simpler: a handful of honest totals, a couple of structural bargains (shared memberships, long prepays), and a clear rule — the plan is the price.
Method note: totals are device + cheapest annual plan renewed annually unless a section says otherwise; sale prices (FitBark device, Halo device) were those shown by the manufacturers on 2026-10-04; activation fees, taxes, optional add-ons, and replacements are excluded as detailed above. Prices checked Oct 2026 and will change. Fi figures verified at Fi's live checkout on 2026-10-04; membership is charged at activation, first term discounted, renews at $189/yr.
Want the totals for your own household and time horizon? Use the calculator in our true-cost guide to total any tracker for 1–3 dogs over 1–5 years.